Installing Intel Compiler for students

This is a summary of my experience installing intel icc compiler on a linux cluster for myself.

The overall process was actually pretty straight forward for the most part, you download the linux version .tar file and untar it then use install.sh or install_UI.sh.

I just used install.sh with a command line interface (inputed my serial number from an email from Intel following signing up on the website). The real tricky part comes after it was installed, I got the follow error messages

Error: A license for CCompL is not available (-76,61026,2).

License file(s) used were (in this order):

1.  Trusted Storage

**  2.  /…/composer_xe_2015.3.187/bin/intel64/../../Licenses

**  3.  /…/yunming/Licenses

**  4.  /…/licenses

**  5.  /…/Intel/Licenses

**  6.  /…/icc/install/composer_xe_2015.3.187/bin/intel64/*.lic

Please visit http://software.intel.com/sites/support/ if you require technical assistance.

icc: error #10052: could not checkout FLEXlm license

I googled around the internet and found many interesting posts. Apparently people have seen this problem before but none of those posts work for me. I was very confused because I already entered my license number during the installation (I was prompted to activate using a serial number).

The real problem is NOT that you need a FLEX license server, the real problem is that the license file was not created or put in the right path.

I followed through instructions in doc/install_Guide.html. The instructions in there are much more detailed than the .pdfs, which only give general instructions. There I see that you that you can actually manually download it from Intel’s website.

Your license file is available for download from
	https://registrationcenter.intel.com.

I downloaded the license and put it in ~/Licenses, I created the file by copying the content into a a file named license.lic (the key is that the extension needs to be a .lic)

After that I added the path to bin in the $PATH var. Now I can use icc.

I hope I can help others resolve the “Error: A license for CCompL is not available”. None of the post I saw was useful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Installing Intel Compiler for students

  1. Tao says:

    Thanks a lot!
    It works perfect.

  2. ankit says:

    thank you very much bro… you saved my life

Leave a comment